CARtas de Republicanos Españoles REfugiados y EXILiados en FRancia (CAREXIL-FR)

Letters from Spanish Republicans Refugees and Exiles in France

 

CAREXIL-FR is a research project carried out as part of the Atelier de Romanités Numériques at the University of Paris 8 (Laboratoire d'Études Romanes, EA 4385), in partnership with the National Archives, Pierrefitte-sur-Seine site and Études Romanes (EA 369) at University Paris Nanterre. It proposes the digital edition and the sociolinguistic and historical study of letters written by Spanish refugees interned in French camps at the end of the Spanish War. These letters are kept in the National Archives, Pierrefitte-sur-Seine site.

 

These letters, unpublished until now, were written mostly by women, some also by men, of various ages and origins, and are dated between February 1939, coinciding with the Retirada, when about 500,000 people left Spanish territory fleeing the Francoist army, and the summer of 1940.

 

The letters have been kept in the archives of the CAEERF (Commission d'Aide aux Enfants Espagnols Réfugiés en France), a private organisation recognised by French Government and Spanish institutions in exile, which actively supported Spanish refugees, in particular by providing material assistance (clothing, shoes, food) to the thousands of refugees interned in makeshift camps.

 

These are letters of appeal for help, in which the authors take the pen out of necessity. For many of them, we also keep the response that the CAEERF sent them, including new information on the situation of refugee families. The collection also keeps letters in French and English exchanged between members of the CAEERF and French institutions (prefects, mayors of municipalities hosting refugees, various collaborators...) and other international aid organizations in France, Switzerland, Sweden, Great Britain...

 

This collection therefore offers exceptional material for the study of the linguistic repertoires available among refugees, representative of broad sectors of Spanish society. It also informs us of the conditions under which the exile and reception of thousands of Spaniards in France took place, some of whom will never return to their country of origin. It allows us to get to know better the solidarity networks that were set up in the host country. Its digital edition and its linguistic and historical annotation aim to activate, better know and promote the dissemination of a heritage of recent European history. It can help us to better understand the challenges currently facing European societies.

 

 

Lettre de Sebastián Coll à la CAEERF. Camp d'Argelès-sur-Mer. 20/12/1939. Détail.

Letter from Sebastián Coll to Renée de Monbrison (CAEERF). Camp of Argelès-sur-Mer. 29/12/1939. Detail.

 

Refugee children's Colony. Morning gymnastics. 

 

Rufina and María, two lost children.

Note from the CAEERF about Rufina and María, s. d.

 

Spanish refugees in the house of Mme. Laurenceau, a baker, posing with the neighbours of the village. Neuville-aux-Bois (Noiret). Summer 1939.

CARtas de Republicanos Españoles REfugiados y EXILiados en FRancia (CAREXIL-FR)

Lettres de Républicains Espagnols Réfugiés et Exilés en France

CAREXIL-FR est un projet de recherche réalisé dans le cadre de l'Atelier de Romanités Numériques de l'Université Paris 8 (Laboratoire d'Études Romanes, EA 4385), en partenariat avec les Archives Nationales, site de Pierrefitte-sur-Seine et l'EA 369 Études Romanes de l'Université Paris Nanterre. Il se propose l'édition numérique et l'étude sociolinguistique et historique des lettres écrites par des réfugié-e-s espagnol-e-s interné-e-s dans des camps français à la fin de la Guerre d'Espagne. Ces lettres sont conservées dans les Archives Nationales, site de Pierrefitte-sur-Seine.

Ces lettres, inédites jusqu'à présent, ont été écrites pour la plupart par des femmes, certaines aussi par des hommes, d'âge et d'origine diverses, et sont datées entre février 1939, coïncidant avec la Retirada, quand environ 500.000 personnes quittent le territoire espagnol fuyant l'armée franquiste, et l'été 1940.

Les lettres ont été conservées dans les archives de la CAEERF (Commission d'Aide aux Enfants Espagnols Réfugiés en France), organisation privée reconnue par les institutions françaises et espagnoles en exil, laquelle prêta un soutien actif aux réfugiés espagnols, notamment en apportant de l'aide matérielle (habits, chaussures, nourriture) aux milliers de réfugié-e-s interné-e-s dans des camps de fortune.

Il s'agit de lettres d'appel à l'aide, dans lesquelles les auteur-e-s prennent la plume poussé-e-s par la nécessité. Nous conservons également pour beaucoup d'entre elles la réponse que la CAEERF leur envoya, comportant de nouvelles informations sur la situation que vivaient les familles réfugiées. Le fonds conserve également des lettres en français et en anglais échangées entre les membres de la CAEERF et les institutions françaises (préfets, maires des communes accueillant des réfugiées, collaborateurs divers...) et autres organisations internationales d'aide en France, en Suisse, en Grande-Bretagne...

Ce fonds offre par conséquent un matériel exceptionnel pour l'étude des répertoires linguistiques disponibles parmi les personnes réfugiées, représentatives d'amples secteurs de la société espagnole. Il nous informe également des conditions dans lesquelles s'est produit l'exil et l’accueil de milliers d'Espagnols en France, dont une partie ne retournera jamais dans son pays d'origine. Il nous permet de mieux connaître enfin les réseaux de solidarité qui se mirent en place dans le pays d'accueil. Son édition numérique et son annotation linguistique et historique visent à activer, mieux connaître et favoriser la diffusion d'un patrimoine de l'histoire européenne récente. Enfin, il peut nous aider à mieux comprendre les défis auxquels sont confrontées actuellement les sociétés européennes.

Lettre de Sebastián Coll à la CAEERF. Camp d'Argelès-sur-Mer. 20/12/1939. Détail.

Lettre de Sebastián Coll à Renée de Monbrison (CAEERF). Camp d'Argelès-sur-Mer. 29/12/1939. Détail.

 

Colonie d'enfants réfugiés. Gymnase matinale. 

 

Rufina et María, deux enfants seules.

Note de la CAEERF sur Rufina et María, s.d.

 

Réfugiés espagnols chez Mme. Laurenceau, boulangère, avec les voisins du village. Neuville-aux-Bois (Noiret). Été 1939.